

University Travel Awards Committee Annual Report 2016 - 2017

Faculty Travel 2017 (March 16, 2016 – April 30, 2017)

Meetings were held at ORC on Nov 10, 2016, December 8, 2016 (subcommittee only), March 9, 2017 (no quorum), March 31, 2017 (no quorum).

Dr. Justine Tigno-Aranjuez was elected as Committee Chair after the first meeting.

Accomplishments during this period:

- 42 travel awards were disbursed for a total of \$31,418.86
- The breakdown of awards by college were: BA (6), CAH (9), CECS (5), CON (3), COS (8), CREOL (2), FSEC (1), HPA (7), MAE (1). Twenty-five were for international travel while the remaining were for domestic travel.
- Following the goals of UCF's Collective Impact Strategic Plan, Dr. Cynthia Young proposed
 that award funds be redirected towards travel for faculty that are being recognized for a
 distinguished achievement or travel to receive a significant honor. This would, in turn,
 increase the national and international recognition of UCF.
- Following this directive, the committee renamed the award Travel Award for Recognition of Faculty Excellence (TARFE) and revised the award eligibility, criteria, and application materials. These are to be released shortly.