

## UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL FLORIDA

## **University Travel Awards Committee**

## Annual Report 2017 - 2018

Faculty Travel 2017-2018 (May 1, 2017 – March 31, 2018)

Meetings were held at ORC on December 12, 2017, and April 23, 2018 (quorum met for both meetings)

Dr. Justine Tigno-Aranjuez was elected as Committee Chair after the first meeting.

Accomplishments during this period:

- 41 travel awards were disbursed during this award period for a total of \$31,371.39
- The breakdown of awards by college were: CAH (25), CECS (2), CON (4), COS (5), COE-HP (2), COHPA (1), MAE (1), and NTSC (1). Fifteen were for international travel while the remaining were for domestic travel.
- Following the December meeting, a minor change was made to the application and rubric regarding placing more weight on formally invited presentations etc.
- During the April meeting, the transfer of the handling of this award to Faculty Excellence was discussed. Changes voted upon afterward included: simplifying the awards into 2 levels only, minor revisions to the application document, splitting the faculty travel money into 2 cycles, incorporating new deadlines and meetings for the new cycles, and informing applicants who meet the criteria that they qualify and will be awarded contingent upon getting the documentation (early notification).
- Documents (application, rubric, instructions) were communicated to Faculty Excellence. Ownership of organizational email (<u>FacultyTravelAwards@ucf.edu</u>) to be taken over by staff designated by Dr. Jasinski. Ami Zuclich agreed to stay on as an owner temporarily to assist in the transition to Faculty Excellence.