

University Travel Awards Committee Annual Report 2018 - 2019

Faculty Travel 2017-2018 (May 1, 2018 – March 31, 2019)

Meetings were held at Millican Hall on November 20, 2018, and May 1, 2019 (quorum met for both meetings)

Dr. Dipendra Singh was elected as Committee Chair and Dr. Lee Ross was elected as the vice chair after the first meeting.

Accomplishments during this period:

- 70 travel awards were disbursed during this award period for a total of \$46,102.89
- The breakdown of awards by college were: CAH (38), CBA (5), CECS (2), CCIE (4), CHPS (3), COM (1), CON (3), COS (12), Optics (1), and ORC (1). Twenty-two were for international travel while the remaining were for domestic travel.
- During November 20th meeting, committee voted in favor of no proxy voting to make the process more robust and practical.
- During the May 1st meeting, committee explored different options to support faculty members
 who might not get any funding support for travel and thus cannot access this E&G funding.
 After extensive discussion and insights from budget department personnel, it was concluded
 that we have to follow the processes put in place and no other alternatives can be pursued
 because of the nature of these funds.