University Honors Committee Annual Report 2020-2021

The University Honors Committee did not meet during the fall semester as there were no seminar proposals to consider. The committee met on February 23, 2021, to select the Founder's Day Honors Undergraduate Thesis Awards. The recipients were:

Engineering and Technology: Zachary Stein, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, "Degradation from CMAS infiltration in 7YSZ EB-PVD thermal barrier coatings," Dr. Seetha Raghavan

Arts, Humanities and Creative Inquiry: Jacob Howard, Burnett School of Biomedical Sciences/ Department of Philosophy, "Understanding Medical Error in Surgical Stapler Use: A Philosophical and Scientific Analysis," Dr. Luciana Garbayo

Natural Sciences and Health Sciences: Sarah Swierz, School of Politics, Security and International Affairs, "Sea-Level Rise and Climate Justice for Native Americans and Indigenous Peoples: An Analysis of the United States' Response and Responsibilities," Dr. Peter Jacques

Social Sciences, Business and Education: Jenna Dovydaitis, School of Politics, Security and International Affairs, "The Lasting Legacy of Chemical Weapons in Iraqi Kurdistan," Dr. Gunes Murat Tezcur