FACULTY SENATE STEERING COMMITTEE

<u>MEMORANDUM</u>

TO:Faculty Senate Steering CommitteeFROM:Faculty Senate OfficeDATE:April 7, 1999SUBJECT:Minutes of meeting held on April 1, 1999

The Steering Committee was called to order by Dr. Ida J. Cook, Chair, at 4:05 p.m. The roll was circulated for signatures. The minutes of March 11, 1999 were unanimously approved. Members present included Drs. Lee Armstrong, Lee Cross, Richard Tucker, Karl-Heinrich Barsch, K. Phillip Taylor, Naval Modani, Rosie Joels, James McBrayer, Gregory Frazer, and Vice Provost Frank Juge.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

None

STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS

Budget and Administrative

Dr. Naval Modani stated that there was no report.

Graduate Council

Dr. Gregory Frazer stated that there was no report.

Personnel

Dr. John Leeson was not in attendance, therefore, there was no report.

Undergraduate Policy and Curriculum Committee

Dr. Heinrich Barsch stated that to his knowledge there was no report.

Dr. Cook mentioned that she had heard from Dr. Campbell, Chair of the Committee, who had recently received an e-mail from Dr. Haven Sweet. Dr. Sweet, Associate Dean for the College of Arts and Sciences, stated in his e-mail that there was no minor code number for "FILM Screen writing." When the UPCC approved the Film-Cinema Studies minor, it did not include the the Screen writing. Dr. Campbell felt that this issue could be handled by e-mail with the UPCC, but wanted clarification if the present UPCC was still in force. The Steering Committee agreed that it continues until a new committee could be appointed. Dr. Modani stated that the re-write of the Constitution would clarify the issue.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS - None

NEW BUSINESS

Nominations for Faculty Senate Officers 1999-2000

A slate of officers was discussed for the 1999-2000 academic year. The nominating committee includes: Drs. Rosie Joels, Phillip Taylor, Richard Tucker, and Naval Modani. However, members of the committee felt that the Steering Committee could discuss the slate. The following slate was proposed: Chair Dr. Ida J. Cook

Vice ChairDrs. Lee Cross and John LeesonSecretaryDrs. Carol Bast, Cynthia Hutchinson, and Mike Mullens

The Nominating Committee will contact the nominees in order to get their approval for their names to be included on the slate. Nominations will be accepted from the floor at the Faculty Senate meeting of April 22, 1999. The tentative slate was approved.

OTHER

Dr. Cook reported that the invitations to the President's Reception will be mailed to all 1998-99 and 1999-2000 senators. The first Faculty Senate meeting for 1999-2000 will be held at the same location at 4:00 p.m. The reception begins at 5:30 through 7:30 p.m.

Dr. Cook thanked the Steering Committee for all their hard work this year. Meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.