## UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL FLORIDA FACULTY SENATE OFFICE

## MEMORANDUM

**TO:** All Faculty

**FROM:** Faculty Senate Office **DATE:** April 15, 1996

**SUBJECT:** Faculty Senate Meeting of April 11, 1996

\_\_\_\_\_

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Naval Modani, Chair, at 4:03 p.m. The roll was circulated for signatures. The minutes of Senate meeting of March 21, 1996 were approved. Guests present included Dr. Frank Juge, Dr. Brian Rungeling, and Dr. Keith Koons.

## **ANNOUNCEMENTS:**

Dr. Modani introduced himself and welcomed the new members to the 1996-1997 Senate. He also introduced Kathy Wohlbold as the Senate executive secretary. Dr. Juge announced that he was representing President Hitt and Dr. Whitehouse who were attending the CREOL open-house.

## **NEW BUSINESS:**

Dr. Modani asked all senators to introduce themselves and specify their departments.

The election of officers for the new Faculty Senate was conducted and the results are as follows:

Chair Dr. Richard Tucker College of Arts and Sciences

Vice Chair Dr. Stephen Goodman College of Business Administration

Secretary Ms. Carole Hinshaw UCF Library

Dr. Modani then introduced Dr. Richard Tucker as the new Chair of the Faculty Senate for 1996-1997. Dr. Tucker thanked everyone for their vote of confidence and said he was following a very impressive past chair. The Senate agreed wholeheartedly and all thanked Dr. Modani for his excellent work with the Faculty Senate. Dr. Juge, representing Dr. Whitehouse, thanked Dr. Modani for his achievements during his three year term as Senate chair. Dr. Cunningham presented Dr. Modani with a plaque in appreciation of his work and dedication to the University of Central Florida as chair of the Faculty Senate for 1993-1996. Dr. Modani also serves as chair of the Advisory Council of Faculty Senates in Tallahassee. Dr. Modani responded that he enjoyed serving as chair of the Faculty Senate and thanked the Senate. He also plans to continue to be engaged in faculty governance issues.

Dr. Cunningham presented a plaque to Dr. Brian Petrasko for his good work and efforts as Vice Chair of the Faculty Senate for 1995-1996. Dr. Keith Koons was also awarded a plaque in appreciation of his efforts as Secretary of the Faculty Senate for 1994-1995.

Dr. Tucker announced that it was time to elect the representatives to serve on the Faculty Senate Steering Committee. Dr. Modani explained that the Steering Committee is the Executive Committee for the Senate and their job is to coordinate and facilitate the work of the standing committees, and to channel resolutions from the standing committees to the Faculty Senate.

Dr. Modani reminded the senators that the first Senate meeting of the fall semester will be held on Thursday, August 29, 1996 at 4:00 p.m., and that all meetings thereafter will be held on Thursdays from 4:00 to 5:00 p.m. All meetings of the Steering Committee will be held on Thursdays from 4:00 to 5:30 p.m. Faculty Senators should try to arrange classes around these dates and times. Classes should not interfere with Senate or Steering Committee meeting dates. Dr. Modani also reminded the senators that all members will be assigned to a standing committee, and they should return their Committee Preference form to the Senate Office as soon as possible.

Members from each college were asked to elect representatives to the Steering Committee. The results of the colleges' choices for the Steering Committee are as follows:

Arts and Sciences Dr. Phillip Taylor

Dr. John Leeson Dr. Terri Fine Dr. Robert Reedy

Business Administration Dr. Taylor Ellis

Education Dr. Rosie Joels
Engineering Dr. Brian Petrasko
Dr. James McBrayer

Health & Public Affairs Dr. Gregory Frazer

Chair Dr. Richard Tucker
Vice Chair Dr. Stephen Goodman
Secretary Ms. Carole Hinshaw
Past Chair Dr. Naval Modani

The officers of the Faculty Senate, as well as the previous chair of the Faculty Senate, also serve on the Steering Committee.

Dr. Modani stated that the Committee on Committees, chaired by the Vice Chair of the Faculty Senate, has one representative from each college from those who serve on the Steering Committee. This committee seeks recommendations from the Deans for appointments of non-senate faculty members to serve on the Standing Committees. The Committee on Committees also seeks input from various sources for faculty to serve on Reporting Committees of the Senate.

Members for the Committee on Committees are as follows:

Dr. Stephen Goodman, Chair

Dr. Naval Modani, Past Chair of the Faculty Senate

Arts and Sciences Dr. Phillip Taylor
Business Administration Dr. Taylor Ellis

Education Dr. Rosie Joels
Engineering Dr. Brian Petrasko
Health & Public Affairs Dr. Gregory Frazer

The meeting adjourned at 4:40 p.m.