ERSITY OF CENTRAL FLORI FACULTY SENATE

Minutes: Faculty Senate Meeting, April 13, 1989

The meeting was called to order at 4:04 PM by Chair Rosie Joels. Members of the Senate were asked to stand and identify themselves by name and department. Minutes of the March 2, 1989 meeting were approved as distributed.

Guests were introduced. Don Rider of the UCF Report and Amy Christy of the Central Florida FUTURE were in attendance.

Dr. Phil Taylor reminded the faculty of the May 7 faculty tribute to President Trevor Colbourn. Dr. Joels reviewed those portions of the Senate Constitution which deal with Senate membership on. She also explained procedures for committee assignments.

Dr. Astro commended the Senate on work done this year. Resolution 88-89-6, Disruptive Behavior has created a problem in terms of "automatic" suspension for a given period of specific length. The administration can suspend students from registration for disruptive or threatening behavior. Specifics of the resolution will be addressed next Fall in order to address the concerns of all parties on campus.

Dr. Joels spoke about the Presidential search process and media reports. Senator Jack Gordon plans to introduce a bill in the Florida Legislature which would constitute Presidential search committees of 1/3 faculty, 1/3 community members, and 1/3 other campus personnel.

Election of officers for the 1989-1990 Senate resulted in Chair Rosie Joels being elected, by acclamation, for a third term. Dr. Karl-Heinrich Barsch was elected Vice-Chair and Dr. Nancy P. Klintworth was elected Secretary.

Dr. Joels expressed her gratitude to Victor Owen for his contributions this year. The Senate membership lauded Dr. Joels, Dr. Taylor and Mr. Whitney for their service.

Adjournment was declared at 4:42 PM. Individual colleges met to elect members for the steering Committee.

Respectfully submitted,

John C. Whitney, Secretary UCF Faculty Senate

FACULTY SENATE STEERING COMMITTEE 1989-1990

OFFICERS: Dr. Rosie Joels, Chair

Dr. Linda Malone, Ex-officio

Dr. Karl-Heinrich Barsch, Vice-Chair

Dr. Nancy Klintworth, Secretary

ARTS & SCIENCES: Dr. Ida Cook

Dr. Glenn Cunningham

Dr. Paul Somerville

Dr. Mark Stern

Dr. Phil Taylor

BUSINESS: Dr. Naval Modani

EDUCATION: Dr. Nannette McLain ENGINEERING: Dr. Chris Christodoulou

Dr. Yasser Hosni

HEALTH: Dr. David Ratusnik