DISTRIBUTION F

UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL FLORIDA FACULTY SENATE MINUTES

MEMORANDUM

TO: All Faculty

FROM: Faculty Senate Office

DATE: April 22, 1993

SUBJECT: Minutes of Faculty Senate Meeting of April 15, 1993

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Glenn N. Cunningham, Chair, at 4:05 p.m.

The roll was passed for signature. The minutes of March 25, 1993 were approved. Guests present included: President John Hitt, Dr. Frank Juge; Dr. Mary Palmer; Dr. Kathryn Seidel; and Dr. Gary Whitehouse.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS: No unfinished business.

NEW BUSINESS:

The election of officers for the new Faculty Senate was conducted and the results are as follows:

Chair Dr. Naval Modani Vice Chair Dr. Yasser Hosni Secretary Dr. Keith Koons

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

President Hitt then addressed the senators, first thanking Dr. Cunningham for his service as Faculty Senate Chair during the past year and commenting on the Faculty Senate as a effective body at UCF. Dr. Hitt spoke of the management team looking at UCF and their report that was delivered today, which will help UCF move from Ad Hoc decisions to dealing with overenrollment and underenrollment. Dr. Lilie, Dr. Juge and the President are trying to come up with a schedule to avoid any crisis management. Dr. Hitt expressed his feelings of encouragement from the report which was received. Dr. Hitt then spoke of the student population, financial aid, retention, screening, identifying the academic needs and quality of services.

Dr. Cunningham reminded the senators that the Faculty Assembly will be April 29, 1993, and encouraged them to attend and to speak to their colleagues about the importance of attending. There will be some revisions to the constitution presented for approval at the April 29th meeting. Dr. Cunningham also informed the members that there are two more candidates for the Provost position who will be coming on campus within the next two weeks.

Dr. Cunningham then turned the floor over to Dr. Naval Modani, the new Chair of the Faculty Senate. Dr. Modani thanked everyone for their vote of confidence and announced that the next item on the agenda was the election for representatives to serve on the Faculty Senate Steering Committee.

The results of the colleges' choices for the Steering Committee are as follows:

Arts & Sciences Dr. Lee Armstrong

Dr. Ida Cook

Dr. Shirley Leckie

Dr. Kathleen Sheridan

Dr. Phil Taylor

Business Administration

Dr. Brian Rungeling Dr. Alexander Wood

Education Engineering

Dr. Brian Petrasko

Lingineering

Dr. Jose Sepulveda

Health & Public Affairs

Dr. Joyce Dorner

Dr. Cunningham expressed his appreciation to Dr. Jeff Cornett who has served as Secretary to the Faculty Senate the past two years and is stepping down. Dr. Cornett has just become the father of a three year old son and a 1 1/2 year old daughter and is very busy both on campus and off campus these days. Dr. Modani expressed appreciation to Irene Butler for her excellent service as secretary to the Faculty Senate.

The meeting adjourned at 5:10 p.m.