Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes of April 17, 2014

Reid Oetjen, Faculty Senate chair, called the first meeting of the 2014-2015 Senate to order at 4:05 p.m. The roll was circulated for signatures. Oetjen welcomed the senators.

MINUTES

Motion to approve the minutes of March 27, 2014 was made and seconded. The minutes were approved as recorded.

GUESTS

Lyman Brodie, Associate Vice Provost, Faculty Relations

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Oetjen announced that the Provost Search Committee conducted airport interviews this week. The president is expected to announce the five finalists by the end of the week. There will be sessions for members of the Faculty Senate to meet with the candidates when they come to campus. Specifics will be sent out by email.

REPORT OF THE PROVOST

Lyman Brodie, on behalf of Interim Provost Diane Chase, stated that there was nothing to report.

NEW BUSINESS

Introductions

The members of the Senate introduced themselves.

Election of Officers

Oetjen turned the meeting over to Manoj Chopra, who spoke on behalf of the Nominating Committee. Chopra announced the slate of candidates proposed by the Nominating Committee and approved by the Steering Committee. He called for additional nominations from the floor. There were none. Motion made to close the nominations. Motion seconded and carried. The slate of nominees was approved by acclamation. The officers elected for the 2014-2015 Senate were:

Chair: Reid Oetjen, College of Health and Public Affairs
Vice Chair: Keith Koons, College of Arts and Humanities
Secretary: Tom Bryer, College of Health and Public Affairs

Chopra turned the meeting back over to the Oetjen.

Establishment of Steering and Committee on Committees

Oetjen provided an overview of the role and duties of members of the Steering Committee and the Committee on Committees. He discussed the caucus process by which colleges elect members to serve on the Steering Committee and the Committee on Committees.

Each college met to caucus and elect members to the Steering Committee. The following senators were elected by their colleges to serve on the Steering Committee:

College of Arts and Humanities: Robert Cassanello, Margaret Ann Zaho

College of Business Administration: Robert Folger

College of Education and Human Performance: Michelle Kelley

College of Engineering and Computer Science: Manoj Chopra, Xun Gong College of Health and Public Affairs: Bernardo Ramirez, Robert Wood

College of Medicine: William Self College of Nursing: Norma Conner

College of Optics and Photonics: Jim Moharam College of Sciences: Kevin Belfield, Linda Walters

Rosen College of Hospitality Management: Deborah Breiter

University Libraries: Richard Harrison

The following Steering Committee members were elected by the senators from their colleges to serve on the Committee on Committees:

College of Arts and Humanities: Robert Cassanello College of Business Administration: Robert Folger

College of Education and Human Performance: Michelle Kelley College of Engineering and Computer Science: Manoj Chopra

College of Health and Public Affairs: Robert Wood

College of Medicine: William Self College of Nursing: Norma Conner

College of Optics and Photonics: Jim Moharam

College of Sciences: Kevin Belfield

Rosen College of Hospitality Management: Deborah Breiter

University Libraries: Richard Harrison

The meeting was adjourned.