# Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes of April 18, 2013

Ida Cook, Faculty Senate chair, called the first meeting of the 2013-2014 Senate to order at 4:03 p.m. The roll was circulated for signatures. Cook welcomed the senators. All members of the Senate introduced themselves.

#### REPORT OF THE PROVOST

Tony Waldrop, provost and executive vice president, reported that the legislature seems likely to return the \$52 million that was taken from UCF's budget last year. The House and Senate budgets both propose small salary increases for all state employees. The proposed budgets are still subject to change.

Waldrop reported on two searches:

- Jeff Jones from Indiana has accepted the position of vice provost for Regional Campuses.
- Waldrop will be making an offer sometime next week the position of dean of the College of Engineering and Computer Science.

#### **MINUTES**

Motion to approve the minutes of March 28, 2013 was made and seconded. The minutes were approved as recorded.

## **NEW BUSINESS**

### Election of Officers

Cook thanked the Nominating Committee for the slate of officers. Cook announced the slate of officers for the 2013-2014 Senate, based on nominations from the Steering Committee. She called for additional nominations from the floor. There were none. Motion made to close the nominations. Motion seconded and carried. Motion made to approve the slate of nominees by acclamation. Motion seconded and carried. The officers elected for the 2013-2014 Senate were:

Chair: Reid Oetjen, College of Health and Public Affairs

Vice Chair: Kelly Allred, College of Nursing

Secretary: Keith Koons, College of Arts and Humanities

Cook turned the meeting over to the new chair, Reid Oetjen. Oetjen thanked Cook for her work as chair of the Senate.

### Establishment of Steering and Committee on Committees

Oetjen provided an overview of the role and duties of members of the Steering Committee and the Committee on Committees. He discussed the caucus process by which colleges elect members to serve on the Steering Committee and the Committee on Committees.

Each college met to caucus and elect members to the Steering Committee. The following senators were elected by their colleges to serve on the Steering Committee:

College of Arts and Humanities: Martha Marinara, Kathryn Seidel

College of Business Administration: Robert Folger

College of Education: Oliver Edwards

College of Engineering and Computer Science: Manoj Chopra, Thomas Wu College of Health and Public Affairs: Bernardo Ramirez, Robin Wood

College of Medicine: Steven Ebert College of Nursing: Norma Conner

College of Optics and Photonics: Jim Moharam College of Sciences: Kevin Belfield, Arlen Chase

Rosen College of Hospitality Management: Deborah Breiter

University Libraries: Rich Gause

The following Steering Committee members were elected by the senators from their colleges to serve on the Committee on Committees:

College of Arts and Humanities: Martha Marinara College of Business Administration: Robert Folger

College of Education: Oliver Edwards

College of Engineering and Computer Science: Thomas Wu College of Health and Public Affairs: Bernardo Ramirez

College of Medicine: Steven Ebert College of Nursing: Norma Conner

College of Optics and Photonics: Jim Moharam

College of Sciences: Kevin Belfield

Rosen College of Hospitality Management: Deborah Breiter

University Libraries: Rich Gause

The meeting was adjourned.