UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL FLORIDA FACULTY SENATE <u>MINUTES</u> of April 19, 2001

Dr. Michael Mullens, Faculty Senate Chair, called the meeting to order at 4:10 p.m.. The roll was circulated for signatures. The minutes of March 22, 2001 were unanimously approved.

ANNOUNCEMENTS AND RECOGNITION OF GUESTS:

- Dr. Mullens recognized and welcomed Drs. John Schell and Dennis Dulniak. Dr. Dulniak announced that there would be a records privacy seminar held on Friday, May 11 regarding security issues (FERPA) in Classroom Building 1, Room 104 from 1:00 3:00 p.m. A flyer on the seminar was distributed. There would also be a question and answer period.
- The following information was reported:
 - 1. UCF expects a 9% increase in student enrollment this summer, and an 8% increase in the fall of 2001.
 - 2. Suggested to faculty to announce to students that the new software to check for plagiarism is now available. It can be included in faculty course syllabi.
- Dr. Mullens thanked the returning senators for all their work on the standing committees and a special thank you to the chairs of the committees: UPCC, Dr. Ady Milman; Graduate Council, Dr. Stephen Goodman; Budget and Administrative, Dr. Pamela Rouch; and Dr. Sophia Dziegielewski, Personnel.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS - None

NEW BUSINESS

New and returning senators from each college were invited to stand and introduce themselves and their departments.

Election of Officers

Dr. Michael Mullens stated that the following slate of officers was proposed by the Steering Committee:

- Chair: Dr. Michael Mullens, College of Engineering and Computer Sciences
- Vice Chair: Dr. Stephen Goodman, College of Business Administration
- Secretary: Dr. Diane Wink, College of Health and Public Affairs

Dr. Wink requested other nominations for the chair position from the floor. With no other nominations for the chair position, Dr. Naval Modani moved to accept Dr. Michael Mullens as chair by acclamation. The motion was seconded and adopted unanimously.

Dr. Wink returned the floor to the new chair, Dr. Michael Mullens. Dr. Mullens thanked the Senate for their confidence in his election. Dr. Mullens asked if there were any other nominations from the floor for the position of vice chair. No other nominations were raised. It

was moved and seconded to accept Dr. Stephen Goodman as vice chair by acclamation. The motion was seconded and adopted unanimously.

Dr. Michael Mullens identified Dr. Diane Wink for secretary. Other nominations were requested from the floor. With no other nominations from the floor, it was moved and seconded to accept Dr. Diane Wink to continue as secretary by acclamation. The motion carried.

Dr. Mullens stated that his goal for the Faculty Senate was to maintain the same high level of governance as it is in transition, and to maintain academic freedom.

Dr. Mullens proceeded to inform the new Faculty Senate of the functions and composition of the Steering Committee and the Committee on Committees. He asked the senators from each college caucus to elect members for the Steering Committee and Committee on Committees. The following members were elected:

Steering Committee

Chair:	Dr. Michael Mullens
Vice Chair:	Dr. Stephen Goodman
Secretary:	Dr. Diane Wink
Past Chair:	Dr. Ida Cook
Provost:	Dr. Gary Whitehouse

Arts and Sciences	Dr. Rufus Barfield
	Dr. Glenn Cunningham
	Dr. Martha Marinara
	Dr. Keith Koons
Business Administration	Dr. Naval Modani
Education	Dr. Cynthia Hutchinson
Engineering	Dr. Ahmad Elshennawy
	Dr. Ola Nnadi
Health & Public Affairs	Dr. Carol Bast

Committee on Committees

Chair: Dr. Stephen Goodman

Arts and Sciences	Dr. Keith Koons
Business Administration	Dr. Naval Modani
Education	Dr. Cynthia Hutchinson
Engineering	Dr. Ahmad Elshennawy
Health & Public Affairs	Dr. Carol Bast
Past Chair (ex-officio)	Dr. Ida Cook

Dr. Mullens reminded the Senate of the President's reception held at the Burnett House at 5:30 p.m., and all are invited to attend.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:55 p.m.

Next Faculty Senate meeting: August 23, 2001 at 4:00 p.m. Location: Student Union Cape Florida Ballroom, 316 C&D