UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL FLORIDA FACULTY SENATE MINUTES of

April 20, 2000

The meeting was called to order at 4:03 p.m. by Dr. Lee Cross, Faculty Senate Vice Chair. The roll was circulated for signatures. The minutes of March 23, 2000 were unanimously approved.

ANNOUNCEMENTS AND RECOGNITION OF GUESTS:

- Dr. Cross recognized and welcomed Drs. Dan Holsenbeck, Lin Huff-Corzine, and Jimmy J. Williams, ACE Fellow.
- Dr. Cross announced that President Hitt hopes to host a reception for all senators after the August Senate meeting.
- Dr. Cross announced to the new members and a reminder to returning members that it is important to sign the attendance roll. Thursday 4:00 to 5:00 p.m. has been made available to all senators by their college deans and department chairs.

She also reported that Provost Whitehouse has approved Resolution 1999-2000-6 <u>Full Time Status for Graduate Students</u> and Resolution 1999-2000-7 <u>Graduate Certificate Programs</u>.

Dr. Cross introduced Dr. Whitehouse. Dr. Whitehouse welcomed new members and thanked the senators completing their terms. He stated that he enjoyed working closely with the Faculty Senate, and was hopeful that the new senators will find it rewarding serving on the Senate.

He commented that this was a crazy time in Tallahassee, and that the potential demise of the Board of Regents appears to be a reality. There was much activity on the budget-front last week and that it looked good for UCF. Initially there was a concern that schools that had over-enrolled would only be funded for their budgeted amount. Fortunately it seems that the new FTE will be funded.

Dr. Whitehouse introduced Dr. Dan Holsenbeck, Vice President of University Relations. He stated that Dr. Holsenbeck has been a lobbyist for 25 years. Dr. Holsenbeck was invited to speak.

Dr. Holsenbeck commented about a most unusual topsy-turvy turmoil in the Legislature. This is due to an unpredictable governor and the decision that "eight years is enough." This is not good. There is a lack of knowledge in the system and this is not in our best interest. People who are leaving are taking what they want and those coming in are inexperienced. He expressed hope that the new legislators will be intelligent and that we can successfully build relationships with them.

On the governance issue, the legislation that was passed in the House will phase out the Board of Regents within three years. Fortunately, a new legislature will come in and look at the issues and may reverse this decision. UCF's major concern revolves around the creation of ten local boards, which could undo our successful efforts at achieving flexibility.

The budget issue looks favorable for UCF and higher education. Enrollment is good. We are doing very well with capital programs. We anticipate all new buildings to be fully funded. We have no information on faculty salaries at this time. The prediction is 3% for universities and community colleges. We always ask for as much flexibility as possible.

It does not appear that TIP and PEP awards will be funded at this point. UCF put in 1/4 million dollars of TIP related funding. The tuition increase of 5% is designed to fund priorities that would normally be called infrastructure and enhancement.

The dollar figures are agreed upon. At present a Proviso is being considered. The proviso will tell us what the restrictions are, if any. There is also a possibility of funds being reduced because more money is needed for community colleges. Money may be moved around a bit before everything is finalized. Until the governor signs the budget, it is not definite.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS - None

NEW BUSINESS

Dr. Cross recognized all outgoing senators with certificates. New and returning senators from each college were invited to stand and introduce themselves.

Election of Officers

Dr.Cross stated that the following slate of officers was proposed by the Steering Committee:

Chair: Dr. Michael Mullens, College of Engineering and Computer Sciences

Vice Chair: Dr. Lee Cross, College of Education

Secretary: Dr. Diane Wink, College of Health and Public Affairs

Nominations for the Chair position were requested from the floor. With no other nominations for the Chair position, Dr. Phil Taylor moved to accept Dr. Michael Mullens as chair by acclamation. The motion was seconded and adopted unanimously.

Dr. Cross turned the meeting over to the new chair, Dr. Michael Mullens. Dr. Mullens thanked the Senate for their confidence in his election. Dr. Mullens asked if there were any other nominations from the floor for the position of vice chair. No other nominations were raised. Dr. Phil Taylor moved to accept Dr. Lee Cross to continue as vice chair by acclamation. The motion was seconded and adopted unanimously.

Dr. Michael Mullens identified Dr. Diane Wink for secretary. Other nominations were requested from the floor. With no other nominations from the floor, it was moved and seconded to accept Dr. Diane Wink as secretary by acclamation. The motion carried.

Dr. Mullens explained his goal of establishing a good partnership with administration. He encouraged each senator to spend some time this summer speaking with colleagues and administration to learn issues that need to be addressed during the 2000-2001 Senate year.

Dr. Mullens proceeded to inform the new Faculty Senate of the functions and composition of the Steering Committee and the Committee on Committees. He asked the senators from each college caucus to elect members of the Steering Committee and Committee on Committees. The following members were elected:

Steering Committee

Chair: Dr. Michael Mullens

Vice Chair: Dr. Lee Cross
Secretary: Dr. Diane Wink
Past Chair: Dr. Ida Cook

Provost: Dr. Gary Whitehouse

Arts and Sciences Dr. Lee Armstrong

Dr. Glenn Cunningham

Dr. Phil Taylor Dr. Diana Velez

Business Administration Dr. Naval Modani

Dr. Robert Pennington

Education Dr. Cynthia Hutchinson Engineering Dr. Ahmad Elshennawy

Dr. John Leeson

Health & Public Affairs Dr. Gregory Frazer

Committee on Committees

Chair: Dr. Lee Cross

Arts and Sciences Dr. Phil Taylor
Business Administration Dr. Robert Pennington
Education Dr. Cynthia Hutchinson
Engineering Dr. Ahmad Elshennawy
Health & Public Affairs Dr. Gregory Frazer

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:50 p.m.