Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 20, 2006

Dr. Manoj Chopra, Faculty Senate Chair, called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m. The roll was circulated for signatures. The minutes of <u>March 30, 2006</u> were unanimously approved with no changes.

RECOGNITION OF GUEST

Introduction of Members

Dr. Chopra introduced Guests Drs. Lin Huff-Corzine, John Schell, Alison Morrison-Shetlar, Dennis Dulniak and all new/returning Senate members. All Faculty Senate members introduced themselves.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

- A reception hosted by the President will be held after the meeting today in the Student Union Garden Key Room 221.
- Dr. Chopra asked that all senators submit their committee preferences for standing committees to Latrecia Rice at the end of the meeting.
- The UCF TIP Criteria and Procedures document for 2006-2007 has been transmitted to the Provost's Office. The Subcommittee has moved onto discussion on revisions to RIA and will then look at SoTL.
- A warm thanks to Dr. Wink for all of her support to the Faculty Senate as Secretary.

Student Perception of Instruction - Dr. Chopra

The previous Senate had initiated an important discussion on the content and administration of the Student Perception of Instruction (Evaluation) forms. This topic will be brought up again with this Senate. Dr. Huff-Corzine has informed the Senate about an upcoming Web Conference related to the subject of Online Student Evaluation system. In particular, some of the topics to be discussed in this conference are – sustained faculty and student support, adequate response rate and appropriate access to online reports are all of great interest to us. Dr. Chopra invited Dr. Huff-Corzine to address this subject and present the details of an offer for those interested in attending this virtually conference. Dr. Huff-Corzine clarified that this not to address the issue of sharing the results online. The purpose of this discussion is for student evaluations to be online. Students will be able to go online to complete the evaluation forms for faculty. There will be two workshops on campus. One workshop set will be Student Course Evaluating from Paper to online issues, questions and some answers. The available dates are April 22nd, May 2nd, and May 11th at 3 p.m. FCTL has offered to house these workshops. The other workshop is only one day on July 13th for two hours. This will include development cost, student confidentiality, response rates, access to use of online reports, and a variety of other issues. There will be a signup sheet circulating around the room and please contact Dr. Lin Huff-Corzine for assistance.

OLD BUSINESS

NONE

New Business

Election of Officers for the 2006-2007 Senate

Dr. Chase, the Chair of the Slate Committee, announced the slate for elected officers for the new Senate. The Steering committee had nominations for each position as listed below. He made a call for additional nominations from the floor. There were none. Motion was then made that the nomination be closed. It was seconded and approved unanimously. There was next a motion to accept the slate of nominees by acclimation. It was seconded and approved unanimously. The new list of officers put forth by the Steering Committee is:

Chair:	Manoj Chopra, College of Engr. & Comp. Sciences
Vice Chair:	Ida Cook, College of Sciences
Secretary:	Pamela Ark, College of Health & Public Affairs

Dr. Chopra commented that this past year was very exciting for the Faculty Senate with several major changes to the campus academic structure and procedures. He expected the upcoming Senate term to be equally challenging and interesting and expected the Senate to be very busy. He expressed his appreciation for the spirit of shared governance and collegiality displayed between the UCF Administration and the Senate. Dr. Chopra hopes to continue this cooperation

Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 20, 2006

in the future. He encouraged the faculty senate members to participate in the activities and committees of the senate. Dr. Chase made a motion for the election of Dr. Chopra as Chair by acclimation. Seconded and approved. Dr. Chopra was elected as Chair of the Faculty Senate for 2006-2007 term. Dr. Chase made a motion for the election of Dr. Cook as Vice Chair by acclimation. Seconded and approved. Finally, Dr. Chase made a motion for the election of Dr. Pamela Ark as Secretary by acclimation. Seconded and approved. After the completion of the votes, the meeting was turned over to Dr. Chopra. He requested Dr. Robert Pennington to continue as the Senate Parliamentarian and Dr. Pennington agreed to do so.

Establishment of the Steering Committee for 2006-2007

Dr. Chopra announced that the next order of business is the need to identify senators to serve on the Steering Committee and the Committee on Committees. It is important that the members be senior faculty with knowledge of issues at UCF. All senate members are asked to review the constitution for information on goals of committees and criteria for membership on committees. Dr. Chopra briefly reviewed the usual activities of the Steering Committee. Members should have knowledge of university and how it functions and ability to look at broad issues. Senators from each college were then asked to meet separately and elect their representative(s) to the Steering Committee. This year, there is a slightly different make up of Steering Committee from the colleges due to the new constitution and new resolution on apportionment. In addition to the elected officers of the Senate and the immediate past chair of the Senate, the Steering Committee will need the following: **Two** members from the College of Arts and Humanities, **one** member from the College of Business Administration, **one** member from the College of Health and Public Affairs, **three** members from the College of Sciences, **one** member from the Rosen College of Hospitality Management, **one** member from the College of Optics and Photonics and **one** member from the Burnett College of Biomedical Sciences. The following senators were elected by the Senate to serve on the Steering Committee from each of the colleges.

College of Arts and Humanities:Keith Koons and DateCollege of Business:Robert PenningtonCollege of Education:Glenda GunterCollege of Engineering and Comp. Sci.:Alain Kassab and KCollege of Health and Public Affairs:Barbara TurnageRosen College of Hospitality Management:Christopher MullerCollege of Optics and Photonics:Jim MoharamBurnett College of Biomedical Sciences:Henry DaniellCollege of Sciences:Rufus Barfield, Sub

Keith Koons and Dawn Trouard Robert Pennington Glenda Gunter Alain Kassab and Kalpathy Sundaram Barbara Turnage Christopher Muller Jim Moharam Henry Daniell Rufus Barfield, Subir Bose, and Aubrey Jewett

Establishment of the Committee on Committees for 2006-2007

The Committee on Committees is chaired by the Dr. Ida Cook, Vice Chair of the Senate and has one Steering Committee member from each college and Dr. Arlen F. Chase, the immediate Past Chair of the Senate.

College of Arts and Humanities:	Keith Koons
College of Business:	Robert Pennington
College of Education:	Jeffrey Kaplan
College of Engineering and Comp. Sci:	Kalpathy Sundaram
College of Health and Public Affairs:	Cecyle Carson
Rosen College of Hospitality Management:	Robert Ashley
College of Optics and Photonics:	Patrick LiKamWa
Burnett College of Biomedical Sciences:	Debopam Chakrabarti
College of Sciences:	Rufus Barfield

OTHER

NONE

Adjourned

Motion to adjourn at 5:15pm made and seconded. Approved.