Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 21, 2005

Dr. Arlen Chase, Faculty Senate Chair, called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m. The roll was circulated for signatures. The minutes of <u>March 31, 2005</u> were unanimously approved.

ANNOUNCEMENTS AND RECOGNITION OF GUEST

Dr. Chase introduced Guests Lin Huff-Corzine, John Schell, and all new/returning Senate members. All Faculty Senate members introduced themselves.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

President's Reception

Reception hosted by the President will be on August 25th either at the Burnett house or Live Oak room.

Reporting and Standing Committees for 2005-2006

Dr. Chase asked that all senators submit committee preferences for standing committees to Latrecia at the end of the meeting.

Provost Report- Dr. Chase

Provost at Board of Governor's meeting. Board of Governor's has voted down idea of targeted programs.

OLD BUSINESS

NONE

New Business

Election of Officers for the 2005-2006 Senate

Dr. Chase announced the elected officers for each position. The Steering committee had nominations for each position as listed below. Call for additional nominations from the floor. There were none. Motion made that the nomination be closed. Made, seconded and approved unanimously. Motion to accept the slate of nominees by acclimation made, seconded and approved unanimously. Nominations by the Steering Committee:

Chair: Manoj Chopra, College of Engr. & Comp. Sciences

Naval Modani, College of Business

Vice Chair: Ida Cook, College of Arts & Sciences

Secretary: Diane Wink, College of Health & Public Affairs

Dr. Chopra and Dr. Modani each gave a brief statement as to their beliefs and views on the role of the Faculty Senate. Dr. Chopra spoke of his goal to invite, include, and inform all faculty with recognition of the growth of the university, faculty morale, and research. He will bring new ideas and fresh approaches. He stated he will build on the work of the many individuals who have served in leadership roles in the past.

Dr. Modani spoke of the importance of promoting and protecting faculty governance. Officers need to have a strong foundation and experience in leadership roles in the Faculty Senate. He has shown his commitment and contributions in many ways over the last years. Will bring to senate experience, understanding of faculty issues, and understanding of campus wide issues. If elected he will unselfishly give time and energy to cause of Faculty Governance. Will bring knowledge of and relationship with members of the Boards of Trustees to the role of member of this group.

Vote by written ballot. Dr. Chopra was elected as Chair of the Faculty Senate for 2005-2006 term.

Dr. Modani made a motion for election of Dr. Cook by acclimation. Seconded and approved. Modani made a motion for election of Dr. Wink by acclimation. Seconded and approved. After the votes, the meeting was turned over to Dr. Chopra. Motion to thank Dr. Chase for his services to the Faculty Senate made, seconded, and approved unanimously. Dr. Modani wished Dr. Chopra the best. Dr. Modani was thanked for his many contributions to the Faculty Senate.

Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 21, 2005

Establishment of the Steering Committee for 2005-2006

Need to identify faculty for steering committee and committee on committees. It is important that the members be senior faculty with knowledge of issues and UCF. All senate members are asked to review the constitution for information on goals of committees and criteria for membership on committees. Dr. Chopra briefly reviewed usual activities of steering committee. Members should have knowledge of university and how it functions and ability to look at broad issues. Senators from each college asked to meet and select representative to steering committee. Slightly different make up of steering committee from the colleges due to the new constitution. In addition to the elected officers of the Senate and the immediate past chair of the Senate, the Steering Committee will need the following <u>four</u> members from the College of Arts and Sciences, <u>one</u> member from the College of Business Administration, <u>one</u> member from the College of Education, <u>two</u> members from the College of Engineering and Computer Sciences, and <u>one</u> member from the College of Health and Public Affairs, <u>one</u> member from the Rosen College of Hospitality Management, <u>one</u> member from the College of Optics and <u>Photonics and one</u> member from the Burnett College of Biomedical Sciences. The following senators were elected by the senate to serve on the Steering Committee from each of the colleges.

College of Arts and Sciences: Rufus Barfield, Melody Bowdon, Keith Koons, and Dawn Trouard

College of Business: Robert Pennington

College of Education: Rosie Joels

College of Engineering and Comp. Sci.: David Workman and Thomas Wu

College of Health and Public Affairs: Janice Peterson
Rosen College of Hospitality Management: Denver Severt
College of Optics and Photonics: Jim Moharam
Burnett College of Biomedical Sciences: Henry Daniell

Establishment of the Committee on Committees for 2005-2006

The Committee on Committees is chaired by the Vice Chair of the Senate and has one Steering Committee member from each college and the immediate past chair of the Senate.

College of Arts and Sciences: Ida Cook

College of Business: Robert Pennington

College of Education:

College of Engineering and Comp. Sci:

College of Health and Public Affairs:

Rosen College of Hospitality Management:

College of Optics and Photonics:

Burnett College of Biomedical Sciences:

Rosie Joels

David Workman

Janice Peterson

Denver Severt

Jim Moharam

Henry Daniell

OTHER

NONE

ADJOURNED

Motion to adjourn at 5:30pm made and seconded. Approved.