UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL FLORIDA FACULTY SENATE MINUTES

of April 22, 1999

The meeting was called to order at 4:07 p.m. by Dr. Ida Cook, Faculty Senate Chair The roll was circulated for signatures. The minutes of March 25, 1999 were unanimously approved.

ANNOUNCEMENTS AND RECOGNITION OF GUESTS:

Dr. Cook welcomed all new and returning senators and requested they each stand and introduce themselves. Dr. Cook thanked the outgoing senators for their accomplishments and diligence while serving their terms.

Dr. Cook introduced Mr. Darin Patton, the newly elected Student Body President. Dr. Armstrong stated that it was a good idea to have a representative from the UCF Student Government attend the Faculty Senate meetings, and Mr. Patton agreed.

Dr. Richard Tucker requested a report on the status regarding the search for Vice President for Research. Dr. Juge was introduced. He stated that four candidates had been interviewed and that one candidate is scheduled to return to meet with President Hitt and Provost Whitehouse.

Dr. Cook asked for closure of the revised Constitution. She would like to get it out as soon as possible to all senators for review.

Dr. Cook thanked Dr. James Campbell who served as chair of the Undergraduate Policy and Curriculum Committee this past year. There had been several difficult discussions and decisions to accomplish regarding GPA and baccalaureate honors.

Dr. Cook also announced that the Personnel Committee had discussed studying the Student Evaluation of Instruction form which has been used for past three years. A good statistical study is needed and discussion will continue in the fall, 1999.

Dr. Cook stated that the Plus/Minus grading resolution will be implemented in the Fall, 1999.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS - None

NEW BUSINESS

Election of Officers

Dr. Lee Armstrong, Vice Chair, took the stand for the election of officers. He stated that the following slate of officers were proposed by the Steering Committee:

Chair:

Dr. Ida Cook, College of Arts and Sciences

Vice Chair:

Dr. Lee Cross, College of Education

Secretary:

Drs. Cynthia Hutchinson, College of Education

and Mike Mullens, College of Engineering

Nominations for the Chair position were requested from the floor. With no other nominations for the Chair position, Dr. Phil Taylor moved to accept Dr. Ida Cook as chair by acclamation. The motion was seconded and adopted unanimously.

Dr. Cook stated that she felt honored to fulfill the position as chair for another year and thanked the senators for their vote of confidence.

Nominations were requested from the floor for the position of Vice Chair. No other nominations were raised. Dr. Phil Taylor moved to accept Dr. Lee Cross as the new vice chair by acclamation. The motion was seconded and adopted unanimously.

Candidates for Secretary, Dr. Cynthia Hutchinson and Dr. Michael Mullens identified themselves. Other nominations were requested from the floor. With no other nominations from the floor, a vote was taken and Dr. Cynthia Hutchinson was elected Secretary for the Faculty Senate, 1999-2000.

Dr. Cook proceeded to inform the new Faculty Senate of the functions and composition of the Steering Committee and the Committee on Committees. She asked the senators from each of the colleges to caucus for the purpose of electing members of the Steering Committee and Committee on Committees. The following members were elected:

Steering Committee

Chair: Dr. Ida Cook Vice Chair: Dr. Lee Cross

Secretary: Dr. Cynthia Hutchinson Past Chair: Dr. Richard Tucker

Arts and Sciences Dr. Lee Armstrong

Dr. Karl-Heinrich Barsch Dr. Glenn Cunningham

Dr. Phil Taylor Dr. Naval Modani

Business Administration Dr. Naval Modani
Education Dr. Patricia Higginbotham
Engineering Dr. Michael Mullens

Health & Public Affairs Dr. Aaron Liberman

Committee on Committees

Chair: Dr. Lee Cross

Past Chair: Dr. Richard Tucker

Arts and Sciences Dr. Phil Taylor
Business Administration Dr. Naval Modani

Education Dr. Patricia Higginbotham

Engineering Dr. Michael Mullens Health & Public Affairs Dr. Aaron Liberman

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:15 p.m.