Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 26, 2007

Dr. Manoj Chopra, Faculty Senate Chair, called the meeting to order at 4:09 p.m. The roll was circulated for signatures. The minutes of <u>March 22, 2007</u> were unanimously approved with no changes.

RECOGNITION OF GUEST AND ADMINISTRATION

Introduction of Members

Dr. Chopra introduced Guests Drs. Lin Huff-Corzine, John Schell, Denise Berrios, and Donald Thomann (Central Florida Future). All Faculty Senate members introduced themselves.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

- ✓ A reception hosted by the Faculty Senate will follow the meeting.
- ✓ Legislative Update

Proposed Academic Enhancement Fee

This proposal reappeared in a different form with ongoing discussion on differential tuition criteria for various levels for the universities. The impact at UCF would be zero additional differential tuition at this time.

BOT activities

The allotment of money for the College of Medicine building was increased—donations will go to medical school building and the biomedical building will be a separate source of funding. The medical school and the Burnett buildings are a fluid situation; still working to work out the arrangements for the land lease.

✓ Dr. Chase Announcements:

Proposed zero funds for salary increases – The BOG had requested 2.44% increase which had been agreed upon going in to legislative conference is in jeopardy. There may be a bonus system however the outcome is unclear at this time.

✓ Collective Bargaining Status - Dr. Huff-Corzine

Reported that 22 items in agreement at this time. Other articles will be discussed over the summer

• <u>UCF Bookstore – Denise Berrios</u>

Ms. Berrios introduced Mr. Dias as the new Textbook Manager; both are alumni of UCF. They expressed their gratitude to the faculty for getting summer book orders into the bookstore. The buy- back numbers for summer are at 85% which is about 10% higher than previously. They noted that book orders were at 20% for Fall semester which is 10% lower. Both stated that knowing book orders improves the buy back process and reduces the cost to the students.

OLD BUSINESS

NONE

NEW BUSINESS

Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 26, 2007

Election of Officers for the 2007-2008 Senate

Dr. Chase, the Chair of the Slate Committee, announced the slate for elected officers for the new Senate. The Steering committee had nominations for each position as listed below. He made a call for additional nominations from the floor.

There were none. Motion was then made that the nomination be closed. It was seconded and approved unanimously. There was next a motion to accept the slate of nominees by acclimation. It was seconded and approved unanimously. The new slate of officers put forth by the Steering Committee is:

Chair: Manoj Chopra, College of Engr. & Comp. Sciences

Vice Chair: Ida Cook, College of Sciences

Secretary: Pamela Ark, College of Health & Public Affairs

Dr. Chopra thanked the Senators for their continued support and commented that he is looking forward to another productive year. He stressed that the faculty must stay vigilant for quality as we grow and faculty role in shared governance. He thanked Dr. Cook and stated that she was an invaluable asset and Dr. Ark has done well in her first year in the leadership position.

Establishment of the Steering Committee for 2007-2008

Dr. Chopra announced that the next order of business is the need to identify senators to serve on the Steering Committee and the Committee on Committees. It is important that the members be senior faculty with knowledge of issues at UCF. All senate members are asked to review the constitution for information on goals of committees and criteria for membership on committees. Dr. Chopra briefly reviewed the usual activities of the Steering Committee. Members should have knowledge of university and how it functions and ability to look at broad issues. Senators from each college were then asked to meet separately and elect their representative(s) to the Steering Committee. This year, there is a slightly different make up of Steering Committee from the colleges due to the new constitution and new resolution on apportionment. In addition to the elected officers of the Senate and the immediate past chair of the Senate, the Steering Committee will need the following: (3) members from the College of Sciences; (2) members from the College of Arts & Humanities; (1) member from the College of Business Administration; (1) member from the College of Education; (2) members from the College of Engineering and Computer Sciences; (1) member from the College of Health and Public Affairs; (1) member from the College of Optics and Photonics; (1) member from the Burnett College of Biomedical Sciences; and (1) member from the Rosen College of Hospitality Management.

Faculty Senate Meeting Thursday, April 26, 2007

Each College met to caucus and elect members of the Steering Committee. The following senators were elected by the Senate to serve on the Steering Committee from each of the colleges.

College of Arts and Humanities: Keith Koons and Mark Kamrath

College of Business:Robert PenningtonCollege of Education:Glenda Gunter

College of Engineering and Comp. Sci.: Alain Kassab and Ali Orooji

College of Health and Public Affairs:

Rosen College of Hospitality Management:

College of Optics and Photonics:

Patrick LiKamWa

Purport College of Piomedical Sciences:

Hopry Dapiell

Burnett College of Biomedical Sciences: Henry Daniell Rosalyn Howard,

John Lynwxiller Aubrey Jewett

Establishment of the Committee on Committees for 2007-2008

The Committee on Committees is chaired by the Dr. Ida Cook, Vice Chair of the Senate and has one Steering Committee member from each college and Dr. Arlen F. Chase, the immediate Past Chair of the Senate. Ms. Latrecia Rice will send preference forms by email.

College of Arts and Humanities:

College of Business:

College of Education:

College of Engineering and Comp. Sci:

College of Health and Public Affairs:

Rosen College of Hospitality Management:

Keith Koons

Robert Pennington

Glenda Gunter

Ali Orooji

Aaron Liberman

Christopher Muller

College of Optics and Photonics:

Clinstopher Mulie

Clinstopher Mulie

Jim Moharam

Burnett College of Biomedical Sciences: Henry Daniell College of Sciences: John Lynwxiller

OTHER

NONE

ADJOURNED

Motion to adjourn at 4:49pm made and seconded. Approved.