Faculty Senate Steering Committee

MINUTES

April 29, 1999

The Faculty Senate Steering Committee was called to order by Dr. Ida Cook, Chair, at 4:05 p.m. Minutes of the April 1, 1999 meeting were unanimously approved. Members present: Drs. Lee Cross, Richard Tucker, Glenn Cunningham, Phillip Taylor, Naval Modani, Michael Mullens, Jamal Nayfeh, Aaron Liberman and Vice Provost Frank Juge.

Dr. Cook welcomed all new and returning members of the Steering Committee. Member lists were distributed for perusal and changes, if needed.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Dr. Cook reminded the committee to attend the presentation by Paige E. Mulhollan, former President of Wright State University and founding member for the Coalition of Urban and Metropolitan Universities. Dr. Tucker added that there would be another presentation the next day on Friday, April 30, 1999.

Dr. Naval Modani announced that the revision of the Constitution was in its final stages, and only minor changes were in progress. Dr. Modani stated that the major changes have been generated in the Standing Committees, which were changed from Graduate Policy and Curriculum Committee to Graduate Council and adding the three subcommittees, i.e. Policy and Procedures, Appeals, and Course Review & New Programs. Of the Reporting Committees, the Computer Policy Committee was changed to Information Technology Resource Policy Committee. In addition, the Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning and the Bookstore Advisory committees have been included.

Other major changes will be the number of senators from 50 members to 60 members. The Committee discussed proportionment per college. The School of Optics would be represented, and the Library will be allowed two senators rather than one. Instructors will continue to not be included in the Senate or any major committees. It was suggested by Dr. Richard Tucker that a copy of the Faculty Senate Constitution be kept in every department of the five colleges.

Dr. Cook stated that a recommendation for a change in the Faculty Senate agenda has been requested. Please forward your recommendations to her for discussion at the next Steering Committee meeting.

OLD BUSINESS

Dr. Cook reported that she had received approval from Provost Whitehouse regarding Resolutions 5 -Baccalaureate Honors, and Resolution 6 - Term Limits for State-Funded Assistantship. However, Resolution 7 - Sexual Harassment Policies and Procedures was approved with suggested revisions.. Dr. Juge explained that "sexual orientation" is not a protected class in the United States or in the State of Florida. Attorney Mary Beth Liberto suggested rewarding the resolution. The resolution was unanimously approved as revised and is attached.

NEW BUSINESS

The Steering Committee liaisons for the four Standing Committees were unanimously elected.

Budget and Administrative Procedures Graduate Council Undergraduate Policy and Curriculum Personnel Dr. Glenn Cunningham Dr. Jamal Nayfeh Dr. Karl-Heinrich Barsch Dr. Aaron Liberman

The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

RESOLUTION 1998-1999-7 Unlawful Discrimination Policies and Procedures

Whereas, the Faculty Senate recognizes the issue of unlawful discrimination based on gender, race, religion, national origin, marital or veteran status, and disability is complex and stems from legal and case history, and

Whereas, the university community would like guidance on these matters, and

Whereas, the state, the university and faculty can incur liability if unlawful discrimination complaints are not dealt with in a timely and appropriate manner,

Be It Resolved, that an articulation of guidelines be provided to the University of Central Florida community that describes and defines unlawful discrimination based on gender, race, religion, national origin, marital or veteran status, and disability, and

Be It Further Resolved, that guidelines be provided to the University of Central Florida community for the investigation and resolution of such actions.

This resolution was approved unanimously by the Faculty Senate on March 25, 1999 and forwarded to Provost Whitehouse for his approval on March 29, 1999. Approved by President Hitt, Attorney Mary Beth Liberto, Deans, and Provost Gary Whitehouse on April 16, 1999 after revisions were approved.