# **Faculty Senate Steering Committee**

# <u>MEMORANDUM</u>

TO:Faculty Senate Steering CommitteeFROM:Faculty Senate OfficeDATE:May 4, 1998SUBJECT:Minutes of meeting held on April 30, 1998

The Faculty Senate Steering Committee was called to order by Dr. Ida Cook, Chair, at 4:02 p.m. Minutes of the April 2, 1998 meeting were unanimously approved. Members present: Drs. David Abbott, Richard Tucker, Karl-Heinrich Barsch, John Leeson, Lee Armstrong, Phillip Taylor, Rosie Joels, Issa Baterseh, James McBrayer, and Gregory Frazer.

Dr. Cook welcomed all new and returning members of the Steering Committee. Member lists were distributed for perusal and changes, if needed.

### **OLD BUSINESS**

Dr. Tucker reported that the Plus/Minus Grading implementation report by Dr. Susan Fine was discussed and accepted by the Faculty Senate at the last Senate meeting held on April 23, 1998. He has forwarded the Senate's approval by hard copy to Provost Gary Whitehouse. If approved, plus/minus grading will be implemented in the fall of 1999.

Dr. Tucker reported on the resolution regarding the "60 hour rule." Dr. Tucker explained that Senate Bill 2330 proposes to eliminate the 60-hour rule requirement in the SUS for undergraduate transfers. This makes the UCF 60 hour senior requirement invalid in a 120-hour degree program. He stated that Provost Whitehouse had requested that the Faculty Senate address this issue. This charge was handled by the Undergraduate Policy and Curriculum Committee. The UPCC discussed the issue at length and forwarded the resolution to the Steering Committee. Dr. Joels asked if other Faculty Senates had addressed this bill. Dr. Tucker responded that he had not requested information from other SUS, but he would do so as soon as possible. It was suggested that all curricula for undergraduates be reviewed. After a lengthy discussion, it was decided that the resolution did not deal with the original issues. Dr. Phil Taylor moved to send the resolution to the new chair of the Undergraduate Policy and Curriculum Committee for Senate year 1998-1999. The new chair will confer with Dr. Juge, the lead administrator on this issue. The motion was seconded and unanimously approved. (Resolution on the "60 hour rule" is attached.)

### **NEW BUSINESS**

Dr. David Abbott reported that he had spoken with Dr. Stephen Goodman regarding the Standing Committees for the Faculty Senate. Dr. Goodman will meet with him regarding establishment of these committees next week.

The following Steering Committee liaisons for the four Standing Committees were unanimously elected.

Budget and Administrative Procedures	Dr. Naval Modani
Graduate Policy and Curriculum	Dr. Gregory Frazer
Undergraduate Policy and Curriculum	Dr. Karl-Heinrich Barsch
Personnel	Dr. John Leeson

Restructuring the Faculty Senate meeting agenda. The following suggestions were discussed: deleting the agenda from the Constitution, suspending the rules regarding the agenda from the Constitution, revise the agenda, Steering Committee to set agenda. Dr. Tucker stated that Drs. Naval Modani and Glenn Cunningham were in the process of revising the Constitution. He also stated that other issues need to be addressed in the revision of the Constitution; namely, new members to the Faculty Senate may need to be added from the Library, the area campuses, Optical Sciences, and the broader issue of addressing the total number of faculty on the Senate. There are still only 52 senators. Drs. Phil Taylor and Rosie Joels volunteered to work with the committee regarding the changes and additions. It was moved and seconded to add Drs. Taylor, Joels and Tucker to serve on the committee with Drs. Modani and Cunningham. The changes will be approved by the Faculty Senate and then forwarded to the Faculty Assembly for approval. Dr. Tucker noted that one change that has been acted upon is the "Computer Policy Committee" which has been changed to "Information Technology Resource Policy Committee." After Dr. Tucker's explanation for the name change, it was unanimously approved. Dr. Cook encouraged the Steering Committee members to review the Constitution and forward any recommendations to any of the five members on the committee.

Dr. Tucker presented a resolution regarding the Office of Graduate Studies and Research, seconded by Dr. Joels. After discussion, the Steering Committee directed Dr. Cook, Chair of the Steering Committee, to discuss the matter informally with Provost Whitehouse. (A draft of the resolution is attached.)

### ANNOUNCEMENTS

Dr. Cook announced that she had received a very recent request from Regent Uhlfelder to identify a UCF faculty member for a Community Service Award. This will take place at a Board of Regents meeting here at UCF in mid-May. Because of the short notice, Dr. Cook suggested selecting a person from the list of Professional Service award recipients from the last four years. The following faculty have received this award:

# Dr. Naval Modani

1997	Dr. Parveen Wahid Dr. Robert Armacost	
1996	Dr. Richard Tucker Dr. Christian Bauer	
1995	Dr. Brian Rungeling Dr. Robert Kersten	(Retired)

A motion was moved and seconded for Drs. David Abbott, Phil Taylor, Issa Batarseh, and Rosie Joels to serve on the Review Committee and forward the name of the recipient to Dr. Cook. The motion was unanimously approved.

The meeting adjourned at 5:04 p.m.