# FACULTY SENATE STEERING COMMITTEE MINUTES April 6, 2000

The Faculty Senate Steering Committee was called to order by Dr. Ida Cook, at 4:05 p.m. The roll was circulated for signatures. Members present: Drs. Lee Cross, Cynthia Hutchinson, Richard Tucker, Lee Armstrong, K. Phillip Taylor, Michael Mullens, Naval Modani, and Aaron Liberman. Guests: Provost Gary Whitehouse, Vice Provost Frank Juge, and Dr. Lin Huff-Corzine. The minutes of March 9, 2000 were unanimously approved.

# ANNOUNCEMENTS AND RECOGNITION OF GUESTS

Dr. Cook asked Dr. Whitehouse to thank Chris Morgan for exceptional work on the Founders Day. Dr. Whitehouse reported on the status of the legislative session including the possible abolishment of the Board of Regents.

**OLD BUSINESS** - None

## STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS - None

### **NEW BUSINESS**

Nominations for 2000-2001 Faculty Senate Officers:

Chair

Michael Mullens

Vice Chair

Lee Cross

Secretary

Diane Wink

A motion was unanimously passed to approve the slate of officers.

### **OTHER**

Dr. Cook asked the Steering Committee members to invite the new Senators to the next Faculty Senate meeting April 20, 2000.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:20 p.m.

Next Steering Committee meeting April 27, 2000