MEMORANDUM

Date: August 19, 2010

TO: All Faculty Senate Members

FROM: Ida Cook

Chair, Faculty Senate

SUBJECT: Faculty Senate Meeting on August 26, 2010

Meeting Date: Thursday, August 26, 2010

Meeting Time: 4:00-5:00 p.m. (reception begins at 5:00)

Meeting Location: Student Union Cape Florida, Room 316 (please note the non-standard location)

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Approval of Minutes of April 22, 2010
- 4. Announcements and Recognition of Guests
 - Provost's Update
- 5. Old Business

None.

- 6. New Business
 - Constitution Revisions Update
 - University Athletics Keith Tribble, Director of Athletics and Executive Vice President
 - NOOKstudy eTextbook Demonstration Mairin Brzica, BN.com
- 7. Adjournment

President's reception will follow the meeting in the Cape Florida ballroom.

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes of April 22, 2010

Dr. Ida Cook, Faculty Senate Chair, called the first meeting of the 2010-2011 Senate to order at 4:04 p.m. The roll was circulated for signatures. The minutes of March 25, 2010 were approved as recorded.

Dr. Cook welcomed the senators. All members of the Senate introduced themselves.

RECOGNITION OF GUESTS

Lin Huff-Corzine, Faculty Affairs.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

The provost approved Resolution 2009-2010-2 Electronic Promotion and Tenure Dossiers.

NEW BUSINESS

Election of Officers

As Dr. Manoj Chopra, Chair of the Nominating Committee, was unable to attend, Vice Chair Diane Wink conducted the elections on his behalf. She announced the slate for elected officers for the 2010-2011 Senate, based on nominations from the Steering Committee. She made a call for additional nominations from the floor for the position of chair. There were none. After a vote, Ida Cook was elected as chair. Dr. Wink made a call for additional nominations from the floor for the position of vice chair. There were none. After a vote, Bob Pennington was elected as vice chair. Dr. Wink made a call for additional nominations from the floor for the position of secretary. There were none. After a vote, Reid Oetjen was elected as secretary.

The officers elected for the 2010-2011 Senate were:

Chair: Ida Cook, College of Sciences

Vice Chair: Bob Pennington, College of Business Administration Secretary: Reid Oetjen, College of Health and Public Affairs

Dr. Wink turned the meeting over to Dr. Cook.

Classes cancelled for mid-week football game

Dr. Cook noted that before the meeting she had received questions about an article that recently appeared in the *Central Florida Future* regarding the cancelling of all classes after noon on Wednesday, October 6 due to a football game. This is per a university policy that when a home football game is scheduled on a weekday, classes will cease at noon. Dr. Cook reported that she has requested that this closure be added to the academic calendar as soon as possible so that faculty can arrange their class schedules accordingly. The Steering committee had received a request from the Student Government Association asking that the Senate support a proposal to cancel classes for the entire day. The Steering Committee chose not to support the resolution, as it proposes cancelling classes for an athletic event.

Activities of the Legislature

Dr. Cook reported information sent from the Board of Governors regarding the activities of the legislature and the educational committees. The State University System (SUS) budget will increase by 5% system-wide. Most universities will experience a 1% decrease in E&G funds. \$10 million in non-recurring funds have been allocated to a new initiative that will encourage the promotion of majors that will promote jobs in Florida. UCF will receive \$1 million for the medical school. The medical schools at UCF and FIU will receive \$3.9 million for the year-four phase in. \$16.8 million has been allocated to cover contribution increases in the employer's share in the Florida Retirement System (FRS). The legislature is proposing that participants in the FRS be required to contribute to their retirement fund, and is considering calculating the final payout using the average salary over the participant's entire career, rather than the current method of using the highest five years. Several issues have been agreed to by the joint committee, among them: require instructors to consider open access textbooks when adopting new textbooks; implement a streamlined registration process for distance learning.

Establishment of Steering and Committee on Committees

Dr. Cook discussed the caucus process by which colleges elect members to serve on the Steering Committee and the Committee on Committees. She briefly discussed the role and duties of the Steering Committee and the Committee on Committees.

Each college met to caucus and elect members to the Steering Committee. The following senators were elected by their colleges to serve on the Steering Committee:

College of Arts and Humanities: Mason Cash, Keith Koons, Marie Léticée, Kathryn Seidel

College of Business Administration: Robert Folger, Stephen Goodman

College of Education: Jeffrey Kaplan, Stephen Sivo

College of Engineering & Computer Science: J. J. Liou, Kalpathy Sundaram

College of Health and Public Affairs: Aaron Liberman, Gerald Smith

College of Medicine: Henry Daniell College of Nursing: Diane Wink College of Optics: Jim Moharam

College of Sciences: Kevin Belfield, Arlen Chase, John Lynxwiler, Alfons Schulte

Rosen College of Hospitality Management: H. G. Parsa

University Libraries: Richard Gause

The Committee on Committees, chaired by the Dr. Bob Pennington, Vice Chair of the Senate, has one Steering Committee member from each college. These members were selected when the colleges caucused for Steering Members. The following Steering Committee members were elected by their colleges to serve on the Committee on Committees:

College of Arts and Humanities: Keith Koons

College of Business Administration: Stephen Goodman

College of Education: Stephen Sivo

College of Engineering & Computer Science: J. J. Liou College of Health and Public Affairs: Aaron Liberman

College of Medicine: Henry Daniell

College of Nursing: Diane Wink College of Optics: Jim Moharam College of Sciences: Arlen Chase

Rosen College of Hospitality Management: H. G. Parsa

University Libraries: Richard Gause

Meeting was adjourned.