University Travel Awards Committee

Meeting Minutes

December 2, 2020

9:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.

Virtual (via Zoom)

In Attendance: Bo Chen, Desiree Diaz, Paul Gregg, Artem Masunov, Bendegul Okumus, Lindsay Taliaferro, John Venecek, Sharon Wang, Jana Jasinski (Ex officio), Julie Dross (Ex officio), Frances Ragsdale (Not voting)

What occurred and what was discussed:

- Meeting started at 9:02 am
- Quorum was established.
- Introduction of committee members
- Dr. Jasinski explained that only E&G funds can be used to fund travel. Faculty Travel cannot reimburse C&G accounts.
- Dr. Jasinski stated that the Faculty Travel Award budget was reduced from \$50,000 to \$39,000 for 2020-2021 academic year.
- Dr. Jasinski let the committee know that the committee needs to elect a new chair. A self-nomination was made by Paul Gregg. The committee made a motion to elect Paul Gregg as the Chair and the motion was approved.
- Motion was made to accept the meeting minutes of the May 5, 2020 meeting and the motion was seconded. Mr. Gregg called for vote. Motion was approved.
- A discussion was held referring to the rubric and "virtual" conferences. A suggestion was
 made to remove the travel section (next academic year 2021-2022?) if the conference
 was virtual and then to adjust the points accordingly. A motion was made to remove the
 travel section from the rubric and adjust points accordingly and the motion was
 seconded. Motion was approved.
- Motion was made to accept and approve all applications and the motion was seconded. Motion was approved.
- Meeting adjourned at 9:35 am