MEMORANDUM

TO:Faculty Senate Steering CommitteeFROM:Faculty Senate OfficeDATE:April 22, 1996SUBJECT:Minutes of meeting held on March 28, 1996

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Naval Modani at 4:08 p.m. The roll was circulated. The minutes of March 7, 1996 were unanimously approved. Members present: G. Cunningham, C. Hinshaw, P. Somerville, P. Taylor, B. Rungeling, A. Wood, J. McBrayer, and L. Malone.

Old Business - None

Dr. Modani announced that this was the last Steering Committee meeting he would chair. He thanked the committee for their support and expressed his appreciation for having the opportunity to serve. It was an enriching experience. Dr. Taylor commended Dr. Modani for his dedication to the Faculty Senate and to faculty governance. Dr. Modani stated that Drs. Cook, Talbott, Wood, Rungeling, and Armstrong are not returning to the Senate next year and thanked them for their service on the Steering Committee. The list of new Faculty Senate members for 1996-1997 was distributed. The next meeting for the new Senate members will be held on April 11, 1996, and the next meeting for the new Steering Committee members will be held on April 25, 1996.

New Business

After discussion on nominations for Faculty Senate officers for the Senate year 1996-1997, the Steering Committee unanimously agreed to nominate: Dr. Richard Tucker, Chair; Dr. Stephen Goodman, Vice Chair; and Carole Hinshaw, Secretary. Additional candidates may be nominated from the Senate floor at the April 11th meeting.

Dr. Modani announced he will send a memo to all newly elected senators asking for committee preferences. A meeting schedule for the Senate year 1996-1997 will be forwarded to all faculty and administrators.

Announcements

Dr. Modani also announced that Dr. John R. Bolte will be the Grand Marshal for spring commencement at 8:00 a.m. on May 4, 1996. Dr. Karl-Heinrich Barsch will represent the Faculty. Dr. Robert N. Gennaro and Dr. Peter W. Colby will represent the College of Health and Public Affairs at the 12 noon commencement. Dr. Richard Miller, College of Engineering, will be Grand Marshal for the 4:00 p.m. commencement. Dr. Naval K. Modani will represent the College of Business Administration, also at 4:00 p.m. Representing the College of Education for the 8:00 p.m. ceremony will be Dr. James S. Beadle and Dr. David W. Gurney.

The meeting adjourned at 4:50 p.m.