Faculty Senate Personnel Committee Meeting Minutes November 18, 2010 2:30 P.M., HPH 406I

<u>Attendance</u>: Kevin Haran, Chair, Jeff Allen, Debopam Chakrabarti, Maureen Covelli, Drew Lanier, Tammie Kaufman, Charles Kelliher, Niels Lobo, Wilfred Wienke

1. Old Buisiness

Prof. Haran notified the committee that the resolution concerning Promotion of Non Tenure-Earning Assistant and Associate Professors was approved at the Faculty Senate Steering Committee. The resolution is on the agenda for the next meeting of the Faculty Senate (November 12 at 4:00 p.m.).

2. Board of Trustees Non-Discrimination Policy

At the request of the Faculty Senate Steering Committee, Personnel discussed the revised UCF Non-Discrimination Policy that was recently approved by the Board of Trustees. Some committee members asked why the document needs to be approved at this level. Haran explained that even though the BOT has approved the revisions, there should be official notice that UCF faculty support this policy. After some discussion, the Personnel Committee voted unanimously in favor of endorsing this policy. Haran will send a draft of the resolution to committee members for input before forwarding to the Steering Committee.

3. Evaluation of Department Chairs / Directors

At the request of the Faculty Senate Steering Committee, Personnel began a discussion concerning the process and procedures of evaluating department chairs / directors. Prof. Haran noted that additional information was forthcoming and that the topic be tabled. The committee went ahead with a general discussion, focusing on prior resolutions (from 1989-2008 minutes of the Faculty Senate) and changes that had been proposed. One specific change that raised concerns was from 2007-08 in the "Appointment" category. The word "nominate" was changed to "select" regarding the college dean's appointment of a candidate (subject to approval by the president and provost). The committee was unclear at what point this change was made and by whom. The committee agreed to continue discussion of this topic at the next meeting.

Meeting adjourned at 3:45 p.m.

Meeting minutes respectfully submitted by Kevin Haran