Faculty Senate

Personnel Committee Meeting

Minutes of October 18, 2017

Stephen King, chair, called the meeting to order and the roll was circulated for signatures.

In Attendance:

Stephen King (Chair), David Harrison, Muyunghee Kim, Jonathan Knuckley, Karol Lucken, Yuanwei Qi, Blake Scott, Vladimir Solonari, Martine Vanryckeghem, Linda Walters, Po-Ju Chen, Valerie Storey, Michael Valenti, Recognized committee members Mason Cash, Waldemar Karwowski, and Konstantine Vodopyanov participated via conference call. Quorum was established.

Karol Lucken volunteered to be minutes taker for the meeting

Minutes

Motion to approve the minutes of September 20, 2017 meeting was made and seconded. September meeting minutes were approved as recorded with no comments.

Recognition of Guests:

Eloy Hernandez, Chemistry Department, (Provost Faculty Fellow) Lucretia Cooney, Faculty Excellence (via conference call)

Announcements:

None

Old Business

• Emeritus Policy was revisited. Dr. Hernandez presented a policy statement (Revised Version of policy number 4-502.2) developed through Faculty Excellence. He requested this revised version become policy.

Discussion and disagreement focused on the loss of email privileges for Emeritus status faculty; this privilege had previously been included. The reason provided for the change was legal complications that might arise from use of email by retired faculty. There was strong disagreement with that policy.

Discussion and disagreement also focused on the requirement of 10-year service to UCF before being eligible for Emeritus status. For some, the criterion was seen as too stringent as it might eliminate individuals who have made significant contributions to UCF in a short period of time. Others believed it was a reasonable time frame. It was noted that perhaps some clarification could be made on how contributions are to be defined and weighed. To what extent is Emeritus status about one's contributions to the field versus one's contributions to UCF?

It was noted that there are several versions of the Emeritus policy in existence, and it was unclear which set of policy criteria were utilized in the most recent evaluation of emeritus candidates by the campus Commencement, Convocation, and Recognitions committee. M. Vanryckeghem is a member of that committee and will pursue that side. S. King will contact Rhonda Bishop and Margaret Mallolochek as well.

A subcommittee was set up to discuss the issue, consisting of M. Vanryckeghem, L. Walters, M. Cash, and S. King.

University-level P & T decisions and the problem of workload was revisited. Relevant data were presented, including
how often University committee decisions conflict with Provost decisions to grant P & T. Data suggested it was not
often that the Provost voted no when the committee had voted yes. It was more often the case that the committee
voted no and Provost voted yes. Most conflicts existed in cases of promotion to Full Professor.

The resolution to bypass the Univ. T & P committee in cases where the vote for T & P is unanimous

at Department and College levels passed 14 (for) to 3 (against). O Abstentions. The resolution was forwarded to the Steering Committee.

A second resolution was discussed concerning T & P decisions for ORC full-time faculty. It was proposed that they be represented on University P & T and that a full professor be regularly appointed to the committee. The resolution passed with 13 (for) 0 (against) and 2 abstentions.

A subcommittee was set up to discuss a third aspect of University P & T applications: Non-Tenure track faculty applications that are evaluated for promotion. This subcommittee consists of S. King, V. Storey, B. Scott, and M. Valenti.