Skip to main content

The Personnel Committee studies and recommends academic personnel policy and standards, including university-wide promotion and tenure criteria.

Meeting Schedule

On April 7, 2016, the Faculty Senate Steering Committee established Wednesday as the standard meeting day, and 11:30 – 12:30 p.m. as the standard meeting time for the committee. Minor deviations in time are based on the agreement of the committee members. The meeting schedule and location is determined by the chair of the committee.

Meeting Materials and Reports

Agendas and related materials are distributed to committee members one week prior to the scheduled meeting. Minutes and materials are posted once approved at the next meeting.

Topics Tracker

Committee Members

Edwin Torres Areizaga, Chair
Rosen College of Hospitality Management
Hospitality Services

Adam Parrish, Vice Chair
College of Sciences
Nicholson School of Communication & Media

  • Marino Nader
    College of Engineering and Computer Science-Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering; Senate Representative
  • Nadine Dexter
    College of Medicine-Medical Education; Senate Representative
  • Tamra Legron-Rodriguez
    College of Sciences-Chemistry; Senate Representative
  • Jackie LaManna
    College of Nursing-Nursing Practice; Faculty Representative
  • Richard Harrison
    University Libraries-Research and Information; Faculty Representative
  • Vladimir Gatchev
    College of Business Administration-Finance; Senate Representative
  • Janet Andreasen
    College of Community Innovation and Education-School of Teacher Education; Faculty Representative
  • TBD
    College of Graduate Studies; Senate Representative
  • Rodrigo Amezcua Correa
    College of Optics and Photonics; Faculty Representative
  • Edwin Torres
    Rosen College of Hospitality Management-Hospitality Services; Senate Representative; Chair, Personnel Committee
  • Lucretia Cooney
    Academic Affairs-Faculty Excellence; Ex Officio
  • Jana Jasinski
    Academic Affairs-Faculty Excellence; Committee Administrator, University Travel Awards Committee; Administrator-Strategic Planning Council; Ex Officio-Commencements and Personnel Committees
  • Luca Argenti
    College of Sciences-Physics; Senate Representative
  • Mason Cash
    College of Arts and Humanities-Philosophy; Senate Representative
  • Mark Ehrhart
    College of Sciences-Psychology; Senate Representative
  • Karol Lucken
    College of Community Innovation and Education-Criminal Justice; Senate Representative
  • Adam Parrish
    College of Sciences-Nicholson School of Communication & Media; Senate Representative; Vice Chair, Personnel Committee
  • Michael Proctor
    College of Engineering and Computer Science-Industrial Engineering & Management Systems; Senate Representative
  • Blake Scott
    College of Arts and Humanities-Writing & Rhetoric; Senate Representative
  • Martine Vanryckeghem
    College of Health Professions and Sciences-School of Communication Sciences & Disorders; Senate Representative; Chair, Commencement, Convocations and Recognitions Committee


The committee shall consist of at least one faculty member from each academic unit and the provost and vice president for Academic Affairs or his/her designee (ex officio). All committee members must be faculty holding the rank of associate professor or professor, associate or senior instructor, associate or senior lecturer, or associate or university librarian. Committee members shall be selected by the Committee on Committees, in consultation with the provost and vice president for Academic Affairs. Terms of service are two years, staggered. The committee chair and vice chair shall be elected annually by its membership at the first meeting of the committee after the new Faculty Senate is elected, normally in the early fall term.

Duties and Responsibilities

  1. To study and recommend academic personnel policy and standards, including promotion and tenure criteria.
  2. To be responsible for procedures to evaluate administrators and department chairs and oversee such evaluations.
  3. To consider other matters related to the professional well-being of the faculty, including academic freedom.
  4. To make recommendations to the Steering Committee of the Faculty Senate.

Committee Guidance

Interested in serving?